DjangoBooks.com

How useful do you find BiaB?

2»

Comments

• ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020 Posts: 872

I just purchased it for 79 bucks (PMG's write up spiked my curiosity) and am totally blown away. I of course have not figured out a lot of what it can do but for source music as a composer it will pay itself back with one cue. I almost find it dangerous as I don't need to hire rhythm section players for many type TV cues anymore as there are world class players hired by BIAB and the software works great. I am not sure if there are premade materials but inputting a song is fairly easy and once you get the hang of it, it will go very quickly. By buying #109 #110 (30 bucks each) you get the Gypsy Jazz template and it can handle almost any swing tune, sometimes with a good soloist you can cop licks from. It is freakin kewl. As many of you know I am a full time composer and again am blown away by the flexibility of the software.

• richter4208richter4208 ✭✭✭

Score......post some clips when you get a chance

@flaco lots of videos about how to enter a chord progression, pretty easy to do. It can extremely complicated and have a steep learning curve, that I agree. But as I'm using it more and more I like that I can manipulate the track any way I like: leave the bass only, put instruments on either side of the mix, pan or center, turn up or down certain instruments in the mix etc...I really like flexibility that you don't get with the YouTube backing tracks. And I get distracted much less too. It took me forever to decide to spend the money but now I think it's very much worth it.

ScoredogPassacaglia
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • flacoflaco Shelley Park #151, AJL Quiet and Portable