DjangoBooks.com

What to be mindful of when buying an old gypsy jazz guitar (help?)

Dear members,

I have been playing a simple woodland grand bouche for 8 years now(See my profile pic) It has served it's purpose of introducing me to this wonderfull music and getting me through the beginner steps.

I gues i don't have to mention this guitar has it's limitations, in sound and playability.

The time and opportunity has come to upgrade to a new gypsy jazz guitar! 😍

A wonderfull and quite difficult journey has begone. Let me give some context.

At first i thought it wise to buy an Altamira, as i thought this was a excellent upgrade over what i have. I almost did but through circumstance i could not at that moment. Then my budget went up and i could start looking at handbuild guitars around the 2500 Euro mark.

I visited Luthiers here in Holland wich were extremely nice and knowledgeable. Leo Eimers en Gerrit van Bergeijk.

But before i visited the Luthiers i had the chance to play an old Busato oval hole hanging in a guitar shop that not specializes in these type of guitars.

It was very expensive, around 7500 euro's and wayyyyy above my budget.

But this guitar and it's sound is haunting me now, this dry, wooden rolling sound that reminded my a bit of the sound of Tchan Chou Vidal.

I can not find this particular sound in the new handmade luthier guitar's(although i am sure they are excellent guitars).

To be honest, i feel out of my depth in this proces of choosing a guitar right now.

Please could you help me out by maybe answering some of my questions?

Is this sound that i heard exclusive to Old Busato's? is it possible in more brands of old gypsy jazz guitar's?

I also got the chance to try a (standard) Busato replica from Dupont priced second hand for about 1700 euro's.

This guitar sounded nothing like that Old Busato.