DjangoBooks.com

RIP Tony Rice 1951-2020

Comments

• TonyReesTonyRees New South Wales, Australia

Here's one for the ages: Mark O'Connor, Tony Rice, Bela Fleck - "Freeborn Man" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVl1ibykWZU

'nuff said...

• PhilPhil Portland, ORModerator Anastasio

Scot, thanks for the recommendation. I had heard of Tony Rice, but had not listened to his music. I'm really enjoying "River Suite for Two Guitars", superb playing on an interesting variety of tunes. Do you happen to know which channel, left or right, Tony's guitar is coming through? Cheers Phil

• scotscot Virtuoso

According to John Carlini's website, it's Tony Rice on the left and John Carlini on the right.

As for the Selmer, find me a really great guitarist who doesn't sound pretty much the same no matter the guitar. I actually played the Selmer used on "Tone Poems" a couple of days after it arrived in the USA and before it was sold to David Grisman. I was a total beginner at GJ (it was 1993) and so I can't really say what it sounded like. It was one of the guitars with a rosewood neck and was very heavy to the left, the neck always wanted to droop. But it was still an unforgettable moment...

BonesBillDaCostaWilliams
  • lostjohnlostjohn Charleston, WV✭✭ Altamira M01

TonyRees, thanks for the video. That’s a bunch of master musicians. Jerry Douglas has no peer on dobro. If you want to see something fun, check out Jerry and Tommy Emmanuel playing Purple Haze on YT. (I don’t know how to post a vid from YT). This thread might make bluegrassers out of a lot of GJ players 😄. I’m sure there’s some bit of cross-pollenation there already

I always felt there's a lot of crossover between Gypsy jazz and bluegrass. At least from the bluegrass side. A lot of those guys are Django fans and play tunes from Django repertoire.

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • B25GibB25Gib Bremerton WA✭✭✭✭ Holo Busato, Dell'Arte Hommage, Gitane D-500, Eastman AR805