DjangoBooks.com

I'm a beginner, please tell me. I am very glad to join you!

Comments

• KlausUSKlausUS AustriaNew Cholet Intuition, Gaffiero Original, AJL Q&P

Start with the Gypsy jazz chords shapes. There are actually not too many shapes you have to learn. You can find very good Gypsy Jazz chord overviews on the internet. Then start to learn La Pompe and a simple melody/solo to practice the proper picking technique.

This keeps you busy for quite a while. Good luck and enjoy !

• stuologystuology New

Ok - that does change things quite a bit. All of the gypsy jazz courses I know presume some basic knowledge of the guitar, most of them assume a fairly advanced knowledge. So the first thing to do is learn how to play it - until you've got basic chords down, learnt how to fret a note so it rings clear, learnt how to fret several notes at the same time in a way that allows all of them to be sounded at once, got the hang of strumming so that notes sound even, figured out how to play four beats to the bar, and got some calluses on those fingers so it doesn't hurt when you play ....

The good news is that you don't need a teacher to learn guitar. It's always good to have one, but the truth is that most guitarists are self-taught, including some of the greatest guitarists ever (Clapton, Hendrix, Wes etc). It's good to be motivated by a style you want to play - but as a starter, you will have friends and family who can play guitar so get them to show you a few basics. They don't need to know how to play Minor Swing to show you a basic C chord.

Also, there are a lot of free resources for learning to play guitar. Justinguitar is very popular and mainly free - try this as a starting point: https://www.justinguitar.com/categories/beginner-guitar-course-classic

Keep at it for three months and you'll be addicted for life. It's an exciting journey to start on, good luck!

Buco