DjangoBooks.com

first post

longbodylongbody Lafayette, LouisianaNew
edited January 2005 in Archtop Eddy's Corner Posts: 4
my first venture from home was the winter of 1971 in Manitou Springs!
What an awesome place!

I'm new to Gypsy Jazz and I'm having a hard time getting the confidence to really get into some tunes. There are no gypsy jazz players here but the players love the chords and rhythm (how the hell do you spell rhythm anyway) that I can kind of bastardize at times.

Any suggestions on first songs to approach?

Comments

• Archtop EddyArchtop Eddy Manitou Springs, ColoradoModerator
    Thanks for the nice words about Manitou Springs! In 1971, this was like Love Generation central, loaded (so to speak...) with hippies, artists, musicians, and the like. Now many of those folks have grown up, had kids, and are getting ready for retirement. Their chosen lifestyles, however, are still reflected in the daily life here. It's a great town with a great sense of community, nestled at the foot of Pikes Peak with turn of the 20th century Victorian homes and resorts. I hope that one day I may even host a Djangofest here... Djangofest Manitou Springs: DFMS.

On to your question about the best first songs to learn. While others may scoff at this idea, I think the best first songs are still Minor Swing, Daphne and Dark Eyes. Minor Swing, because it's easy and gets you quickly into the Gypsy Jazz thang; Daphne because it shows you how to get through basic rhythm changes ala Gypsy Jazz; and Dark Eyes because while it's simple, it's ripe with chord variations and studies of diminished and half-diminshed (aka minor 6th) chords.

Scot Wise and I were talking one day, and concluded you could write a great article just about approaching Minor Swing -- both rhythmically and via solos. If you could write an article about Minor Swing, you could easily write a whole book about Dark Eyes.