DjangoBooks.com

What accordion is this?

njplayernjplayer New
in Accordion Posts: 5

Hello All, I’m new to the group and accordions. I’ve been playing guitar for 20 years. I’m actually looking to buy a used accordion locally and there is a beautiful one I need to try out. It doesn’t seem to have a brand name on it, just Italia No 18. I’ll try to add a photo here. Can anyone help with what brand this is, if they are any good, and what they should sell for? Thank you!!

BillDaCostaWilliamsrudolfochrist

Comments

• njplayernjplayer New

To add to the original post, I did try to Google search "Italia No. 18" and nothing relevant seems to come up. Appreciate any help you can give!

• BillDaCostaWilliamsBillDaCostaWilliams Barreiro, Portugal✭✭✭ Mateos, Altamira M01F, Huttl

Looks beautiful.

billyshakes
  • ChrisMartinChrisMartin Shellharbour NSW Australia✭✭ Di Mauro x2, Petrarca, Genovesi, Burns, Kremona Zornitsa & Paul Beuscher resonator.

The style certainly fits any of the Italian makers from Castelfidardo. It would be normal to have the makers name on the plain cartouche area above the bellows (between the two arrow designs), it looks strange to have that part left blank, are there any screw holes or other marks where something could have been fixed? Many of these makers also had their own small shield or 'scudo' type insignia, is there anything like that, even without any obvious name written in it these can identify makers too.

A good resource might be;

it could be worth asking if someone there can help.

• njplayernjplayer New