DjangoBooks.com

looking for Gypsy Jazz instructor recommendations in Seattle

Hey everyone, I'm about to move to Seattle for college, and as the title suggests, I figure that this is great opportunity to take some gypsy jazz lessons, since if I inferred correctly, this city has a lot of gypsy jazz activities going on.

In short, are there any recommendations for a gj, or even hot american swing jazz instructor in the Seattle area? I'm currently looking around and I thought this place will be the best place to ask. I'd reached out to Ryan Hoffman who previously played with Pearl Django, and he says his schedule is a bit tight right now. I'm not ruling him out, but also still keeping on the search.

I'm your standard classic rock player who knows pretty much only the pentatonic scale but loves gypsy jazz and American swing and hot jazz deeply, but when it comes to playing those styles, I'll be an absolute beginner, so I am very enthusiastic to dive into those new areas.

All inputs welcome and greatly appreciated.

Cheers, and thank you very much

Tagged:
rudolfochrist

Comments

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F

Djanofest NW is happening Sept. 22-26 on Whidbey Island. I would love to go just for the workshops. Brad Brose has a few really interesting workshops and I would love to attend ****'s guitar set up workshop. Of course Paul Mehling, Michael Horowitz and Evan Price (violin) are on the schedule as well.

Bucorudolfochrist
  • RipRip olympia, washingtonNew

I live near Seattle, let me know if you wanna jam. Here's a track I made. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqciNntZYoY

You might have to copy and paste the link.

360-292-9029

• VicBulbonVicBulbon New

Hey Rip, thank you very much for offering, but I'm still very inexperienced, but I do look forward to jamming with you in the future. Obviously, I'll be in Seattle for at least 4 years.

bbwood_98djangology