DjangoBooks.com

Looking for information on a Dell'Arte Jimmy Rosenberg Model -- year, woods used, value, etc?

Hello all -- I'm new to the forum here. I'm a semi-pro player and teacher, but have little experience in gypsy jazz. A couple of months ago my (well off) neighbor gifted me the above guitar. I'm trying to find out as much as I can about it. Chances are I'll sell it as it's not really suitable for my style. Here's what I know or can guess so far:

.. I think it was built by John Kinnard in the USA. I've done research on his site, and the label matches this. I've submitted an email on his site, but have not heard back. Perhaps he isn't active anymore?

.. I'm guessing early 2000's but not really sure

.. serial number is C401431

.. a pickup has been installed. My guess is a big tone, but I haven't looked too closely to ascertain yet

.. action needs to be adjusted I think. I'm not sure if the current strings are a great fit. Any recommendations?

.. The guitar is in excellent shape. Basically perfect with the exception of some swirls on the top. The top is gorgeous, looks like bearclaw to me.

.. I've found some that were for sale on the classified's of this site, but all are sold and prices aren't showing.

Can anyone fill me in on anything they know about this guitar, including value? I'd be much appreciative. Photos below.

Have a good 2022 everyone!

Comments

• billyshakesbillyshakes NoVA✭✭✭ Park Avance - Dupont Nomade - Dupont DM-50E

Nice gift!

• geese_comgeese_com Madison, WINew 503

Congrats on the guitar. Looking at sold/ended listings on Reverb, the average price is around $2,500.

https://reverb.com/marketplace?query=Jimmy%20Rosenberg&showsold=true

From recent listing I have seen on several sites, that $2,500 seems to be what the asking price is.

You can try contacting this Facebook page to get more info on your particular guitar: https://www.facebook.com/GypsyJazz-Distribution-490245134825443/