DjangoBooks.com

The Legato rest stroke.

SwedeinLASwedeinLA New
edited February 2022 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 42

I am new in the GJ world. Been playing guitar for many a years but new to this picking style. I always played with a mix of hybrid picking, legato and economy picking, But that came naturally depending on phrase played. I have now started to practice GJ style picking and like many other I'm sure, I have issues....Mostly with ascending lines. I have found myself to incorporate more and more GJ style picking naturally as of late though, including in legato playing.

Is that a thing?

It adds volume and attack to the legato and it makes me play and phrase differently. I have seen many Gypsy guys using legatos in form of trills etc, but never really multi string lines. I like that combination and im not stopping that, just continuing my picking training.

Thoughts?

I was always a fan of Metheny, Holdsworth etc.....The direct opposite of GJ style playing....hehe

Comments

Yeah, in this genre it's rarely more than a hammer-on or a pull-off. One thing that impresses me with the best players is how fluid they are with majority if not all of the notes being picked. Especially the younger generation. It ends up sounding very much legato like, that's how well it flows.

Won't hurt to try, sounds like it's something you're used to and are comfortable with. Don't know how well it will sound on a long scale acoustic guitar that's known for being loud and all about attack. I can hear it being ok for recording, even amplified gigging.

SwedeinLAnomadgtr
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2022 Posts: 872