DjangoBooks.com

B section of Body and Soul

AvalonAvalon New

I am a gypsy newbie and understand that the Body and Soul changes as given in the Real Book are not typical of the way gypsy jazzers play the B section of the tune. Django played much simpler changes. My question is this: How are the B section changes typically played in a gypsy jam? My interest is in the first 4 bars of B specifically. Django just plays 3 or 4 bars of a I6 to V7 cadence. What do you play there?

Comments

• spatzospatzo Virtuoso
    edited August 2022 Posts: 768

Personnally I really never have heard "Body & Soul" played in a gypsy jam (not even mentionned)...

I usually play what django played:

[E6/9 B9][E6/9 B9][E6/9 B9][E6/9]

Otherwise a good solution is a combination of a strong diatonic progression ending with fifths:

[E7M F#m7][G#m7 Am7(D7)][E6 B7][E7M B7b9]

Let's see of course the Coleman Hawkins famous version:

[E7M F#m7][G#m7 Am7][G#m7 C#7 F#m7 B7][E7M ]

or Wes Montgomery in double time version:

[E7M ][F#m7][G#m7][Am7 D7][G#m7 C#7][F#m7 B7][E7M ][% ]

or in single time version:

[E7M F#m7][G#m7 / Am7 D7][G#m7 C#7 F#m7 B7][E7M ]

What about Joe Pass?

[E7M F#m7][G#m7 Am7][B7 ][E7M]

Maybe you can also try the reverse solution that Oscar Peterson uses:

[E7M Am7][G#m7 / F#m9 F9#11][E7M A7M G#m7-Gm7 F#m7-B13 b9][E7M B7b9]

Or maybe with Coltrane changes...

[E7M F#m7][G#m7 / Am7 D7][E7M G7 C7M Eb7][Ab7 B7 E7M /]

Best

BucoWilliebbwood_98steffoAvalonLango-Djangorudolfochrist

@spatzo that is amazing

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • AvalonAvalon New

Thanks @spatzo. I like them all! I heard it played at a jam (I wasn’t a participant) a couple months ago. I loved the variety it lent to the jam. I have also heard it played in San Francisco at a club performance. I absolutely love ballads a la pompe.

• wimwim ChicagoModerator Barault #503 replica
    edited August 2022 Posts: 1,454