DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy Jazz jam sessions Scottish Highlands

Jangle_JamieJangle_Jamie Scottish HighlandsNew De Rijk, some Gitanes and quite a few others
in Europe Posts: 186

Hello all, Jamie here from Fort William in Scotland.

I've been playing Jazz Manouche for around fifteen years, though I've loved listening to Django since discovering him in the early 1990s (Django Legacy on UK tv).

A friend and I have started a monthly gypsy swing jam session at the Glenuig Inn - a fairly remote pub in the West Highlands of Scotland. It's on the first Sunday of every month and has been going since the Summer. I've spent years looking for people to play with up here, and finally my prayers were answered when Aurelien moved to the area from Paris and brought his D hole and skills! We have great fun and the music is very well received. All welcome - come and join in!

All the best,

Jamie Hageman

bbwood_98BucoJojo

Comments

• billyshakesbillyshakes NoVA✭✭✭ Park Avance - Dupont Nomade - Dupont DM-50E

Jamie,

Man...where was this note when I was living in Elgin? Fort William is still a bit of a drive from there but we did travel through Oban and Glencoe a few times. Good luck with your jam!

-Bill

• Jangle_JamieJangle_Jamie Scottish HighlandsNew De Rijk, some Gitanes and quite a few others

Damn it Bill! Where are you now? I used to play in Glencoe at the Clachaig Inn quite a bit. Well, next time you're up this way, look me up for a jam

Aurelien? You're not talking about Aurelien Bouly...are you?

Amazingly beautiful area and a pint at that place must be extra tasty.

Send links of you guys playing if you got some.

billyshakes
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • Jangle_JamieJangle_Jamie Scottish HighlandsNew De Rijk, some Gitanes and quite a few others