DjangoBooks.com

Pick ups - Krivo vs Steimer ?

in FAQ Posts: 28

Hello, I have been using a slightly older Krivo for many years, I found it to sound fairly acoustic-ish but sometimes it feels like it lacks of oomph when soloing.

I am tempted to go for a Steimer option but I was curious to hear from other Krivo players, especially in terms of setting on their amp - I use an AER 60 with it.

Comments

• MikeKMikeK Asheville, NCNew Altamira M-10, Epiphone Zephyr Regent

I have 2 Krivos--a 5 year old Djangobucker and a 2 year old Micro Manouche. I love them both, but I prefer the Micro Manouche. It sounds a bit cleaner & warmer to me. I run it through a Fender Blues Jr and it gives me a fairly acoustic-sounding dark tone that I love. I use it on 10 to 12 gigs a month & it's never let me down. I haven't tried a Stimer, but I have a friend who uses one & it sounds a bit bright/harsh for my tastes. You asked about amp settings, here's where I set things:

Reverb-2/Master-2? (I adjust it depending on the gig)/Mid-2/bass-6/Treble-2/Master-9. And I engage the fat switch.

I dont sense a lack of oomph when I solo, but I get your frustration with that. No pick-up is perfect, but with the Krivo, I get a rhythm tone that I love and a lead tone that I like. I hope this helps.

Andrea VerganiDoubleWhiskyBuco