DjangoBooks.com

Robin Nolan online course recommendations?

zmandozmando New
in Technique Posts: 3

Hi,

I'm new to gypsy jazz, and am trying to find the best structured online course for learning the foundations of the genre. I'm a very experience bluegrass guitarist, but have no jazz/swing background and am used to learning by ear. I've found Robin Nolan's youtube videos which seem really great and easily digestable, so I'm interested in signing up for one of his more structured courses, but he has a few different ones and it's hard to tell the difference between them (Fast track, Foundations, Gypsy jazz Transfusions Club etc). Can any point me in the direction of which course might be most helpful to get started ? What actually is his Gypsy Jazz Transfusions Club? Thanks!

Zach

Comments

• billyshakesbillyshakes NoVA✭✭✭ Park Avance - Dupont Nomade - Dupont DM-50E
    edited February 8 Posts: 1,309

Edit: Looks like the name lost the "Transfusion" part so I corrected that below.

Hey Zach,

I have a few of Robin's courses and 20 years ago his books were one of the few ways to learn the style. These days, I think he's more engaged in his Transfusion Gypsy Jazz Club and building a community there. It is a montly subscription, but they go over songs each month and have some group webinars covering all the aspects. In addition, there is a forum and archive that has all the past months. So, pretty much any song that you might fancy, you could find it there. Usually, he offers a 30-day free preview with no committment required. You might want to write him at [email protected] to see what offer is going on now. There might be others here who are in it now or have been in the past.