DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy Picking - Finally the Right Hand Makes Sense.....

jazz_bum2002jazz_bum2002 Salt Lake City UTNew
edited September 2006 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 2
Hi,

So I hope comment is appropriate for this specific section of this board (if not please delete it). I just got this book last week. The first time I had a chance to read and practice was yesterday. Joyous results. I have been listening to Django for about 12 or 13 years (since I was about 11) and have been in love with him ever since. I have been playing jazz for about 6 years(guitar for 12). I have played semi-professionally for the past 4 or 5 years (mostly standards, Joe Henderson - modern stuff Metheny etc.). My picking hand is so erratic though and when I bought my first Selmer Style guitar last year I was amazed by the lack of tone and volume. Slowly I have been working on free hand picking since then (super stressed and tight). As soon as I actualy read about the rest sroke technique I was blown away, immediately things began to make sense (all those hours of staring at Bireli's right hand ugh). This book is great, I would like to thank Michael for bringing such a straightforward work into the often confusing jazz pedagogy.