DjangoBooks.com

Week 1

Chris PetersonChris Peterson Santa Monica, CANew
edited May 2007 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 50
I thought it might be kind of cool for people to share what they are doing with Gypsy Rhythm on a weekly basis (or maybe even every 5-7 practices). I tend to make out Excel spreadsheets with my practice goals for the week and check them off as I do them. I have been doing that with Gypsy Picking for 2 months now, and I just started last week with Gypsy Rhythm.

I have been working on sections 5, 6, 7 and 9. I read through the first 4 chapters, but didn't reel a real need to practice them regularly. As for part 8 and 10, I just didn't think I was advanced enough yet to tackle them.

In the first week, I feel that I have developed a pretty good Trad La Pompe, I have figured out Thumb Position (though it still hurts sometimes), changed the way I voice lead chords, and have gotten some good rhythmic ideas.

Anyone else want to share? If this kind of thing doesn't interest anyone, I probably won't do it again next week, but if it does, it might be cool to see how people progress.
Work on the <A HREF="http://www.petersonmusic.com/wiki">Gypsy Jazz Fake Book</A>.No finale experience necessary.

Comments

• zeitblomzeitblom Prescott, AZNew
    Since I'm beginning - not a beginning player - but since getting interested in this style, I really am starting from scratch - just getting chords under my fingers cleanly - learning right hand technique from the beginning again.

This Week's routine:

(Ex. 5.10) Working on the traditional pompe - with the recording until I get it and then I'll apply it to 2 or 3 tunes from the Nolan books (Trying to get Book 1 memorized this month).

Then:
    (6.16) V-I progressions - working on memory - mimicking Michael - taking each progression through Transcribe - slowing it down sometimes to 70 or 80%

(6:17) V-i - same way