DjangoBooks.com

Wrist movement

edited September 2007 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 33
Hello everyone. Got a question again. Does the picking movement only come from the wrist? When I play fast, or at least attempt to play fast, I find that I must use my arm to generate the movement. Thanks.

Comments

• aa New York City✭✭✭✭
    the wrist is just a hinge...i think the motion needs to start up in you arm.
    Www.alexsimonmusic.com
    Learn how to play Gypsy guitar:
    http://alexsimonmusic.com/learn-gypsy-jazz-guitar/
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    I'd definitely say it's from the wrist. If you mostly move from the elbow there's a tendency to lock your wrist which will really slow you down.
  • spudspud paris, france✭✭✭✭
    firstly , thank you michael for your book and site and for the wealth of info and dialogue it contains.
    i am just beginning to try to change my technique with the help of your book and i find all the discussion about the position and movement of the right hand very interesting.
    as for this topic about the wrist i would like to get more specific- i think when most people talk about the movement from the elbow -they mean raising and lowering the forearm from the elbow joint. wrist movement is made more complicated because the joint is connected by two bones on the forearm. one can raise and lower the hand in a hinge like way or can rotate the hand (which in turn engages more of the forearm) or can move the hand from side to side like a snake's head. or one can do any combination of the movments.
    to me (at my very beginner's stage) it seems that the movement needed is mostly the rotation movment (with maybe a tiny bit of hinge like movement at the wrist-lowering and raising).
    what do you folks think? how could it be described more precisely?
    the positioning of the hand -its angle is created by just letting the hand hang by gravity.
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator