DjangoBooks.com

Advice for Cigano GJ-15 Setup

Hi All,

I'm new to GJ and based on what I have read on the forum, it seems like the Cigano GJ-15 would be a good place for me to start, as far as getting a guitar specifically suited to the style. I have seen several recommendations regarding leather under the tail piece, fret leveling, professional setup, etc. Obviously the helpful people that have posted these ideas know much more about this than I do, and I want to make sure I get things right. When I add the guitar to my cart and check the options for professional setup, fret leveling, improved tuners, the DR tailpiece, and a hard case, the price ends up north of $700. That's definitely a little more than I am able to shell out at this time.

What are the bare essentials? Is it possible to trim down the list of extras? Or should I just wait until I have the cash to do it all-out?

Thanks in advance...

Comments

• lmntrylmntry Portland , Oregon✭✭✭✭
    Hi:
    I picked one of those up about 6 months ago.

The guitar was ready to go right out of the box !

I didn't add a thing to it......a local luthier checked it over and it was all in order . (truss rod , frets etc.)
    In fact I was so impressed with the guitar that I used it for the next 3 or 4 months for all my gigs.

Great tone and volume.....$300 ! go figure :roll:

David
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!