DjangoBooks.com

Learning La Pompe

periclimenespericlimenes Santa Ana, CANew
edited January 2008 in Technique Posts: 140
Hi All,

I'm very new to GJ and I am working through Gypsy Rhythm and Denis Chang's DVD. I'd love to hear any thoughts you have on what's right/wrong with my fledgling pompe.

Thanks,

peri

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    I'd say you're really forcing it too much....it sounds very heavy and doesn't really swing.

Try brushing the strings more with the pick. You need to try and get a lighter "swooshing" sound to your rhythm. Also work on making your upstroke faster....it's too slow and sounds very gallop like.

Good work though..keep at it!

'm
  • periclimenespericlimenes Santa Ana, CANew
    Michael - thanks for your speedy reply!

When you say to try brushing the strings more, do you mean alter the pick angle or just not be so heavy handed? or both?

Also, would you (or anyone else) please comment on the body/wrist positioning? I have watched a lot of the videos on the site and am trying to emulate that and remain relaxed...

Thanks,

peri
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    When you say to try brushing the strings more, do you mean alter the pick angle or just not be so heavy handed? or both?

The more angle you put on the pick the more "swoosh" you'll get.

'm
  • The LosThe Los San DiegoNew
    Hey man, in regards to body position, wrist, etc, etc... Just a quick thing I noticed... I think you're playing too much with your arm. I see a lot of elbow movement. Try to keep the your strumming movements limited to the wrist area. This was the hardest thing for me to get down. But once I did it helped my playing tremendously (since you use less energy this way). That's all. Keep it up!
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator