DjangoBooks.com

Huge Hurdle: Bad notes.

doObdoOb New
edited May 2008 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 3
Sorry for my first post being a begging one but here goes:

I've got gypsy picking recently, and have been working through the techniques and becoming quite proficient (get it if you haven't by the way). However, despite improving my technique, the notes I'm playing tend to sound awful.

I've been improvising over minor swing and I have a feel for which notes will sound good, but this has just appeared over hours of playing over it again and again, but with other songs I'm playing such as Swing 42 and Daphne I can't seem to figure it out.

I'm guessing my problem is that I'm mostly self taught until recently and have absolutely no musical theory knowledge.

So, any suggestions?

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    Welcome to the forum!

Improvisation is a difficult thing... You can start by "Running changes", that means playing the arpeggios of the chord progression, to establish a map of "good" notes to play around with, transcribing phrases or solos by Django and other players will help you see what can be done and give you a good start.

The new Denis Chang's Dvds "Technique and improvisation" will definitely help a lot, they don't require that you know much theory, instead encouraging you to rely on your ears.
    Vols I and II will give you new tricks and licks to play over "Minor swing", Vol III covers ways of playing through rhythm changes progressions like the ones in "Daphne" and "Swing 42".
    Since Denis uses the gypsy picking technique, the videos will also help you put to use what you been studying from the book as well as providing you with the "correct" way the classic stuff is traditionally played, both picking and fingering wise so you don't go up any bad roads, a BIG plus.
    These Dvds are your best bet in my opinion.

Good luck!
    You're always only one fret from the right note. :wink:
  • doObdoOb New