DjangoBooks.com

hello all!

HotBootsHotBoots East Bay, CANew
edited December 2008 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 29
Hello all. I started pretending to play gypsy jazz about 6 or 7 months ago, and just got a dell arte in september. I play in a rock n' roll reggae band, but after listening to django and other great players, i've gotten hooked to gypsy jazz.

Anyways, I'm having a little trouble clarifying EXACTLY what to do with my right hand. I've read a lot about the technique here and elsewhere, and though i'm doing good, i feel like somethings still not perfect.

I just started playing with my picking hand hovering above the bridge 2 weeks ago. I feel like because of my physiology (5'7, short wingspan and baby hands) it is hard for me to really break my wrist and keep out as far as someone I watch like Joscho (he seems to hold his wrist really far out). But, I am holding it away from the strings and seeing improvement daily.

I feel like I am building some new muscles in my forearms and often get kind of cramped up (even in my elbow area a little bit), but when I play for a few hours I get a little bit more loose and tend to go with it easier - do I want to feel like my arm is getting a new workout? as if its getting stronger in a new way, and soon going to be able to support higher quality playing? If i don't want to be using so much strength from my arm, do you suggest trying to really exaggerate pick movements? like if i were just doing an alternate picking exercise or something, trying to use the weight of my hand as much as possible to avoid forcing it...?

This may not make any sense.

hope to hear back, and sorry if this was a waste of anyones time.

Nick B.

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Hi Nick,