DjangoBooks.com

opinions: 2 years of gypsy

noizenoize Netherlands✭✭✭
edited December 2008 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 29
I've been playing and practicing Gypsy for about 2 years now by guidance of Michael's book Gypsy Rhytm.

I'd appreciate some opinions on what you guys think time has brought me, and where I can improve myself.

After a couple of times listening, I myself thought pointers were:

Timing: Playing somewhat slower to get the chord progressions under control every time.

Variation: Playing comping, or bass & chords rhythm.

Both the melody and the rhythm on the track is me.

So what do you guys think, and if you have any tips how to improve, please let me know.

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Good job! I like that you're not playing the upstroke too slow which is the biggest problem for beginners.

One thing you might work on is changing chords more smoothly. Sometimes when you switch chords it throws you off for a second.

'm
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    hi sounds good.. the rhythm is way too loud and the first beat could be a touch shorter. the rhythm should not be too loud...

here's a great example for the style of rhythm that you seem to be going after:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sERpFVNQ ... re=related

another thing is that during the melodies, you can add a few effects in the rhythm playing but when the improv starts, keep it dead straight with very very little or not effects (rolls, breaks, etc...) unless it's part of some arrangement you came up with
    oh yes, it would also help to play the right chords :-) the first one is either Bbmaj7 or Em7b5 (depends on who you ask).. but i think i might have heard u play a Gmajor in there somewhere, and avoid doing Dmaj Dbmaj Dmaj, it's very cheesy.... it would be appropriate for a song like sweet sue or i'll see you in my dreams , avalon, but i don't think it fits night and day.
  • FransFrans The Netherlands✭✭✭✭