DjangoBooks.com

Bireli Style Custom Guitar Mic Setup - SOLD

jscook777jscook777 ✭✭✭✭
edited December 2010 in Classifieds Posts: 106
Bireli Style Custom Guitar Mic Setup For Sale

At a Bireli concert in N.Y. I had an opportunity to speak with his audio engineer, Phillipe. Being an audio engineer myself, I had a mutual friend who introduced me to him. Phillipe took the microphone off of Bireli’s guitar and let me handle it while he explained it’s construction to me. I’ve made several exact copies now, that work great. But, the microphone feeds back at low volumes when plugged directly into an acoustic guitar amplifier. Being a sound engineer, I’m familiar with the signal chain that is required to make a microphone loud enough without feedback in a gig setting.

I choose to put that signal chain in a bag which I can use with my amp and mic at a gig.
The signal chain is a microphone preamp into a fully parametric EQ with notch filters. This works by removing the feedback with the notch filters and EQ, resulting in an overall louder volume without feedback. This setup that I have designed and constructed, is a lightweight, very portable system that has additional storage space for a small guitar stand along with other misc. items such as cables, strings, etc. All wiring is custom fitted, professional grade, done with Canare signal cable and Neutrik connectors. I plan to build more of these setups on a case by case basis.

Below is a list of the equipment included in this setup:

1x Shure Beta SM98 Microphone (as used by Bireli Lagrene) with a custom mic clip (fashioned to a Favino D-Hole guitar).

1x Sabine FBX Solo SM-610 microphone preamp with 6 automatic feedback notch filters.

1x D-Tar Equinox Parametric Equilizer.

All of this gear is custom fitted in ATA case foam within a Taylor Musician's gear bag.