DjangoBooks.com

Top stress

A little concerned here. I have shimmed the bridge on my DG-300 to eliminate any buzzing, but I'm worried that this may be putting too much pressure on the top causing it to loose it's dome. It does seem to have flattened out a bit (in the bridge area). When I got the guitar, it had no shims, of course, but the strings from the third on down had some buzzing.....hence the shims. I'm using Argies 11's. I keep this guitar and all my solid wood guitars in a humidified display case which does a good job of maintaining ~40-50% RH. I have not messed with the truss rod on this guitar (mainly because of its awkward location). It just seems like the guitar had a much more pronounced dome when I first got it. Am I worrying needlessly? I'm wondering if I should kick the shims out and try adjusting the truss rod.

Thanks,
Tom
Why do they call it a rest stroke......I get tired every time I try playing like that.

Comments

• fraterfrater Prodigy
    I'm no expert but the guy on the pic looks quite happy with his shims...
    Vebjørn
  • blindjimmyblindjimmy phoenix,az✭✭✭✭
    hi. i bought a replacemant bridge from this website, from josh, and it made a huge difference in the sound of my dg300. i cant say enough good things about the improvement !
    shut up and play your guitar
  • TomThumbsTomThumbs NebraskaNew
    Lol, I know what you're saying. Ok, I'll just play the darn thing and quit worrying. Now, if only I had a cool scarf.
    And yes, I have drug my feet on getting a new bridge from Josh, but I think it's time.
    Thanks,
    Tom
    Why do they call it a rest stroke......I get tired every time I try playing like that.
  • Bob HoloBob Holo Moderator