DjangoBooks.com

Buying a better guitar

bluetrainbluetrain Finland✭✭✭ Cach, Epiphone Triumph, Gibson ES-300
Hi everybody! I'm a new user in this great site and I would like to ask your opinion about couple of different guitars. I've been playing for over 15 years now and about 2-3 years ago I started to practice gypsy swing music also. I've been playing all this time with Aria MM-10 D-hole model. I have to say that for the price this guitar is amazing (after few modifications and with right picking technique & plectrum). The only thing that has started to bug me is that it takes really much effort to make it sound good. I would like to own a guitar that would sound good with less picking power. My budget for a better guitar is around 1000e. After reading reviews about different guitars in this forum and http://www.hotclub.co.uk/ forum I've been starting to think about buying maybe Saga Gitane DG-300 or some of the Dell'Arte oval hole models (Pigalle etc). What are your opinions about the quality of these guitars these days? How do you think Gitane and Dell'Arte asian made guitars compare? Should I just go for DG-300 or maybe something else? The sound I'm after is more of a Selmer sound than Favino sound.

Thanks for your reply in advance!

When I have time I'll recored some clips about how this Aria MM-10 sounds.. I think you'll be surprised :)

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    I think one of the Gitane 300 series would be your best bet...if not that then a Cigano Gj-10 can sound very good. However, the neck is very thin which really bugs a lot of people. But the sound is there...

But if you can spend just a bit more these Latcho Drom models are hard to beat...the best Asian guitars around:

Really dry, bright sound with out all the wetness and bassiness that the Sagas are prone to. Also, these are ready to play out of the box...not setup needed which is usually not the case with the Sagas.

'm