DjangoBooks.com

Minor Swing (rhythm)

HennoxLaneHennoxLane Leuven, BelgiumNew
edited May 2010 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 34
Hi y'all,

I've been playing together with a friend of mine for about three months now and yesterday we made some recordings.

now, while I feel pretty confident about my rhythm strokes, I noticed that I am making some strange movements with my hand while playing.

that's why I'd love it if you guys could take a look at this vid of minor swing, and give some constructive feedback about my rhythm.

Also, we recorded Bossa Dorado where I'm doing the solo, most of it is improvised and incorporating some ideas from Stochelo Rosenberg, but here I don't feel too confident.. Feedback about this is also appreciated very much :) (oh, in both clips I'm the guy in the striped sweater)

Minor Swing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efwe0siid5w

Bossa Dorado: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1GuQ4-uuxQ

thanx in advance! :)

Comments

• Hennox

In watching your rhythm I see a fairly active forearm in the up and down plane. I wonder whether prolonged high speed rhythm strumming with your technique might end up with a repetitive strain injury. If you are already playing/rehearsing/practicing 4-5 hrs a day with no problems you may be fine ...... no way of really knowing. With that much motion I would suggest you stretch well before during and after your sessions. :wink:

In faster pieces I use more wrist roll as it puts less strain on the arm tendons
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • HennoxLaneHennoxLane Leuven, BelgiumNew
    well, I am already trying to keep my forearm as still as I can, while trying to strum with a wrist-motion. I guess I should keep it even more motionless?

I can't really imagine what's the best way to practice this then.. watching myself in the mirror? ... Guess that could work ;)