DjangoBooks.com

A year on

Comments

• adrianadrian AmsterdamVirtuoso
    Spartan wrote:
    What about muting, how does that work with the float? if it's floating it can't be muting at the same time.

Muting in this style happens entirely with the left hand, not with the right hand. If you've played a lot of Dave Matthews Band-ish palm-muting stuff, it can take some unlearning, but it becomes natural with practice.

Adrian
  • bbwood_98bbwood_98 Brooklyn, NyProdigy Vladimir music! Les Effes. . Its the best!
    Good Job Guys!
    Though I am mostly a rhythm player, I have been attending great bebop classes here in NYC for the last several months, and find that even at the tempos set by my teacher (fast) I can still gypsy pick. This is great, because I spent a long time learning it as part of getting into the style . . . and now find it very hard to switch to alt. picking.
    Cheers,
    Ben
  • SpartanSpartan New
    adrian wrote:
    Muting in this style happens entirely with the left hand, not with the right hand. If you've played a lot of Dave Matthews Band-ish palm-muting stuff, it can take some unlearning, but it becomes natural with practice.

Adrian
    This is what i was meaning, as a rock blues player with a bit of jazz thrown in this is like a whole new thing.

Muting wholly with the left hand seems kind of strange and not as effective, though i suppose i'll have to get used to it. :cry:
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    adrian wrote:
    Muting in this style happens entirely with the left hand, not with the right hand.

Adrian
    Adrian, do you mean while soloing, or are you talking about rhythm playing? I assumed the question had to do with muting the ringing of unwanted open strings while soloing, but perhaps not.
    Benny

"It's a great feeling to be dealing with material which is better than yourself, that you know you can never live up to."
    -- Orson Welles
  • SpartanSpartan New