DjangoBooks.com

A440-444 Hz and playing with others???

losthoboslosthobos New
edited April 2012 in Accordion Posts: 5
I'm relatively new to the accordion however i do have the pleasure of being the weak link in a little Gypsy Jazz Quintet...
As i search the web for more knowledge i've found myself with this question..
Some accordions are manufactured/tuned to 443/444Hz so that they shine out a little over the other instruments...this is causing the violin player in the quintet to get the hump a little...
My question is...Do you guys get the rest of your bands to tune to A440Hz and let the accordion sing that fraction higher for effect or is it common practice for the other instruments (guitars/bass/violin) to tune up to the 444Hz of the accordion..
The other possibliltie could be the violinist is a tad fanatical as none of the other players have noticed the issue..
many thanks for any ideas posted back..

Comments

• brandoneonbrandoneon Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, France✭✭✭
    Hi losthobos,
    I saw your other post about the reed tunings and I haven't been able to bend my mind around it yet! :lol:
    This question looks easier to answer. In general, you should be safe if the accordion is within 2 Hz of the other instruments, assuming they're all at the same frequency. Many modern accordions are now released from the factory at 442 Hz and thus shouldn't clash with a group tuned to 440; it should make the accordion sound 'bright' and stand out a little though (but pleasantly). Beyond this difference, frequencies start to clash and it's unpleasant. I once tried to play an accordion tuned to 445 with a piano which I think was 442, and the result was horrible.
    I did play with a violinst once and whenever I used a register with light 'Italian' musette tuning it did throw him into hysterics, so it could be something about players that need to find their intonation like on a violin.
    Glad to hear you're enjoying the accordion! :D
    Brandon