DjangoBooks.com

Just starting to solo for a few years now...

ChadChad Bellingham, WashingtonNew
edited January 2005 in Technique Posts: 45
OK Dennis, I have been playing a long time. 30 years or so, I am a good rythym guitarist although some of the "thumb chords" some people push just dont work for me. My big thing is soloing. I have been working on heads for a lot of songs and I am getting way better at that, I have been working my scales and such for a while, but I have yet to figure out how to integrate this into soloing. Should I just continue on and memorize licks and such? It is a bit frustrating, but I am going to figure this out darn it all. If only I could figure out how to have a guitar here at work that I could just pick up when the mood strikes me...

Chad
Wholly Man

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    that's a really hard question to answer....

my opinion when it comes to learning music is to train the ear by relying on your ear as much as you can and only using books/scores/charts when you're totally stuck... having someone show you something is also ear training...

One of the best ways to do this, is through active listening... listen to tunes with your guitar on hand, and pick out licks (or if you're patient entire solos) that interest you... picking out the lick itself is not enough, it's important to pick out the harmony it goes over and also understand how it works rhythmically....

by doing this , you are expanding your django vocabulary, and it helps you understand how things work in this style with regards to improvisation...

the more developed your ear is , the better you're able to hear melodies in your head and play them as you hear em...

as a test, try to play the happy birthday theme IN TIME (bring out the ol metronome and set it at a decent tempo) without messing up once... it's much harder than it seems...