DjangoBooks.com

How to Get to Next Level

jpipper17jpipper17 New Saga Cigano GJ-10
edited February 2020 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 34

Hi. I'd consider myself an intermediate guitar player. What has happened since I've tried to dive into Gypsy Jazz is I feel like a complete beginner. I cant put a loop on or backing track and play pead that sounds good, rhythmically or tonally.

Do advanced players literally have countless internalized phrases sunk into their being, that they understand inside in out? Or do they know arpeggios and practice picking a certain rhythm and are able to apply it to live improv?

I have no clue how to move forward as a player because the path to get to where I want to be seems daunting. I dont have fun when I practice one small piece of theory, try and apply it, and it not sound good.

How did you get to the next level, ie playing phrases with as seemingly the same ease in which you speak a sentence?

Comments

• ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2020 Posts: 867

Potentially a very long answer and there might be a bunch of different view points but to me advanced players have a vocabulary to draw upon which took time to process unless one is a servant. Compartmentalize, take a lick, fragment and get comfortable with it, add another and in a few days and then another and start piecing them together. Learning arpeggios hoping it will take you to the promised land is a step removed, better to find a musical way to play an arpeggio and start working it in from the get go. I have a many many ideas but this is where i would start.

Also I never think of things as levels, we don't actually reach the next level because there really is not one, it is a fluid process of learning and then having it sink in and be natural.

richter4208BucoBillDaCostaWilliamsJosechiky
  • TwangTwang New