DjangoBooks.com

Work solely on basic rhythm, 1 or 2 chords, until good, then move on to tunes and other styles?

PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
in Technique Posts: 1,471

This feels like such a noob question, but then I'm a noob all over again, or so it feels. The "not" noob in me is always seeking the perfect practice structure, which is unobtainable. Always in my craw I guess.

So, feels like I've forgotten everything, though it is coming back in bits and pieces. "Last time," so much of my practice was in learning repertoire while trying to get la pompe down, in preparation for D in J. I think I had easily over 100 tunes memorized, in a pretty short amount of time. But disappointed in my sound itself and so hung up on so many things, pushing maybe in wrong ways despite Denis's and Ted's teachings, I think I loaded the plate way too much.

So, now, no expectations and no time by which "I want to be able to ____ by _____." I'm working through DC Denis and Nous'che, going over old notes, and just working basic rhythm. Only tune I've been working on is coquette. My rhythm is starting to swing, and in a light way I'm trying to capture.

Here's the query:

La Pompe; mastery

On Denis's site, his free lesson with Benji Winterstein just performing different styles, 3 tempos of pompe, Am-E7. I could do Am-E7 all day literally, to really get into singular focus on element 1, rhythm, 4 Ted "T's" (sorry, Ted, if I've remembered wrongly): tone, timing, tempo, taste. That, and Nous'che's work, just trying to take it in and ape him, over and over again. Before acquiring tunes. This, and maybe once again work on memorizing chords down cold - which is what I did originally; from Michael's book. No theory, just an understanding of chord construction, roots, inversions, some extensions. Very little understanding of why certain subs work (maybe shared tones, tri-tones, but that's about it).

La Pompe, chord acquisition, theory, repertoire.