DjangoBooks.com

How to learn gypsy jazz technique from 0?

lv92lv92 New
edited September 2020 in Technique Posts: 31

Hi there 😃

Guitar is coming, picks are coming, so next step would be starting to learn.

I am new to this genre, i mean i can put my hands on guitar and i know some basic jazz theory (2-5-1, chord substitutions, modes, etc...) but seems like i don't have the right "relaxed hand" position while playing, neither a right swingy picking technique. I come mostly from rock and heavy metal techniques.

So what books, youtube videos, etc... would you suggest to a newbie? And what songs to learn to start enjoying this? Thanks in advance

Comments

• pdgpdg ✭✭

Look up Christiaan Van Hemert's youtubes on right hand techique first. And Michael Horowitz's Gypsy Picking book (on this website).

lv92BillDaCostaWilliamsMichaelHorowitzChristopheCarington
  • edited September 2020 Posts: 50

hi

I'm also new to this Forum but was sneaking in and out for maybe two years and learned al lot!

Also i am familiar with playing Jazz Standards but the Django Repertoire is quite different and new to me...

but i DID study the right hand picking for maybe 10 years and "Gypsy Picking" is really THE way to start! I studied al lot of books about guitar playing and music but the way Michaels book is divided in two parts (right hand only/ right hand plus left hand) ist simply outstanding!!! Listening/ watching Oud players like Negar Bouban is also very inspiring for the right hand "ballet" and the use of ornamentation!

Since its much more easy to play scales on guitar i recommend studying triads all over the neck: Major, Minor, Diminished (as triads diminished and half diminished are the same!), Augmented! Also the use of chromatics is more audible in this style!