DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy Jazz Teachers in the SF Bay Area

SimonSimon Berkeley, CANew
edited August 2006 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 3
Are there any good gypsy jazz teachers in the San Francisco Bay area?

thanks

Simon

Comments

• Blue DragBlue Drag S.F. Bay Area✭✭✭✭
    Simon,

Paul Mehling of The Hot Club of San Francisco teaches.

http://www.hcsf.com/
  • vincevince Davis & San Francisco, CANew
    If I could afford Mehling I would take his lessons. If you need a beginner to play background chords for you, I live in SF and Im just starting out.

V
    I don't know whether I'll ever be an excellent player if I keep practicing, but I'm absolutely sure I won't be if I stop.
  • aa New York City✭✭✭✭
    does anyone know of any paul mehling recordings that feature his bartione dupont?
    Www.alexsimonmusic.com
    Learn how to play Gypsy guitar:
    http://alexsimonmusic.com/learn-gypsy-jazz-guitar/
  • V-dubV-dub San Francisco, CA✭✭✭✭
    Sure, he uses it in the recording of Manoir De Mes Reves in the Hot Club of San Francisco's latest CD - Postcards from Gypsyland. It's a duet with Sammo:

http://www.****/cds-hcsf-postc ... syland.php

This album is highly underrated. Its produced very well, the playing is top-notch, and its among my favorites at the moment. If you haven't heard it yet, you really should get it.

And I don't just say that because I am a Bay Area guy!
  • FopaFopa San FranciscoNew
    I take a lesson with Paul about once every two months. He's a great teacher, but he lives and teaches a long way from where I live in Marin County. If anyone knows of a good teacher out that way, I would appreciate the info.
    -fopa
  • gitpickergitpicker Beijing/San Francisco✭✭✭✭ Gibson, Favino, Eastman