DjangoBooks.com

The Asian Dilemna : Gitane DG-300 vs Gallato RS1939 Serie 1

Hi Gipsy Guitar lovers, newbie here !

I want to take the plunge on a Selmer style guitar. After some intensive reading (on this forum and elsewhere) I have selected Gitane DG-300 or Gallato RS1939 Serie 1. While I can't try any of that 2 guitars in my neighborhood, I have the opportunity of buying them over the web about the same price ( ~ 1000 €). Both are made in China I believe, and probably of a lesser quality than handmade guitares but they seem to be over 2000€ wich is out of my price range for the moment, so if you got to choose between them, which one will you take home ?

Thank you for any advice (or any other suggestion)

Comments

• Josh HeggJosh Hegg Tacoma, WAModerator
    I have played both and I own a DG-300. After fitting the 300 with a bridge and setting it up it sounds good and plays great. The problem with the 300s the way they come from Saga is the set up and bridge give it a very wet tone. Really ringing and harsh. With a proper bridge and set up it is a very good sounding guitar.

The lower end Gallatos are okay but have some craftsmanship issues. It is very much hit and miss. I have seen some that had tuners that didn't even work right out of the box. I have also seen that there had been some fret work needed as well. But others have been fine. It' hard to say with them.

If you order either guitar I would highly suggest having it set up and looked at by a luthier/tech before you get it. This will trouble shoot any potential problems before the guitar comes to you.

Cheers,
    Josh
  • naraponarapo FranceNew
    Thanks, Josh

I have read about the bridge of the Gitane and I was already prepared to replace it (Dupont ?) and have a fret dressing if necessary.