DjangoBooks.com

Small hands. Which guitar to get?

fozboxfozbox Salt Lake CityNew
I'm relatively new to guitar - especially GJ, but am an eager learner. I bought a Gitane 300 and Jorgensen's intro book and I simply don't have JJ's long fingers to wrap around the neck like he does (First chapter, he starts with a G bar chord on the 3rd fret, but changes the hand position so the thumb holds down the low E string, etc. Supposedly, it's easier. Not for my short, stubby fingers. )

Anyway, is there a guitar you'd recommend for someone who can't quite "stretch?"

Comments

• Bob HoloBob Holo Moderator
    Shelley Park makes guitars with nice thin necks - I wonder if Charlie Ayers still has his - he's in your area. I think he was considering selling it at some point in the past. The guitar she made me was 0.05" narrower at the neck than a standard GJ guitar and 0.20" narrower at the 12th fret. That doesn't sound like a lot, but it is - and if you get her "C" shaped neck profile it'll be even easier for you to play, as "C" shaped necks tend to feel smaller.
    You get one chance to enjoy this day, but if you're doing it right, that's enough.
  • Charlie AyersCharlie Ayers Salt Lake CityProdigy
    Hi Bob and Fozbox:

That Park has moved to a new home, but thanks for thinking of me. I think there are a variety of other choices with fairly thin necks (AJL, Dupont, Anastasio.....).

Charlie
  • Charlie AyersCharlie Ayers Salt Lake CityProdigy
    Hi Again Fozbox:

I just now see that you're in SLC. Drop me an email (<!-- e --><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><!-- e -->) if you want to shmooz about the music or playing.

Charlie
  • aa New York City✭✭✭✭
    i'm selling a d-500 which has a shorter scale and is easier for smaller hands.
    viewtopic.php?t=3350
    Www.alexsimonmusic.com
    Learn how to play Gypsy guitar:
    http://alexsimonmusic.com/learn-gypsy-jazz-guitar/
  • kimmokimmo Helsinki, Finland✭✭✭✭
    fozbox wrote: