DjangoBooks.com

How to improve solo playing?

arnolloarnollo New
edited May 2011 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 11
Hi all,
I started playing the style seriously 6 months ago and i've worked enough to have a correct rythme playing: i currently begins to put subs, voicings and bass walks and it sounds not too bad.
when it comes to soloing, i am getting a better and better sound and attack, and i really feel it's easier and easier to play technical stuff.
but i don't say anything, i just play sounds that sound ok on the chords. i tend so simplify the progressions a lot and only play on the general tonality of the part of the chord progression we are in.
in general i feel there is a huge difference between my soloing capability and and what i can do when playing licks i've learned by heart or when i play rythm.
How could i improve that?
My personal analysis is that i lack some vocabulary, so, what i try to do is to learn a lot of themes, and to transcribe solos from the recordings. As it is pretty difficult for me at the moment, i'm mostly using transcriptions in the hope that after i have a basis coming from that, transcripting myself will be easier. (i started to reckognize the arpeggios after i worked on them a lot).

Does anyone have an idea on what work i should do to improve my solo playing and how to make scentences instead of notes following each others. Is it normal to suck at solo, i mean, i am only beggining to learn all the possibilies with the chords, maybe it's just normal to be a bad soloer at that level. It just feels odd to be confident in my rythm playing and to be able to play technical stuff from other players, but to suck when it has to come from myself..

Thanks
arnaud

Comments

A couple of ideas ...