DjangoBooks.com

Bridge specs

I recall following some dialog on bridges a while back, but I don't remember any specifics about the space between the feet of the bridge. Is there an optimum length for this arch, and for the height of the arch (the distance between the top of the gtr. and the bridge in this arch)? Also is the arch between the feet what is being refered by the use of the term "hollow", as in "hollow bridge" (I saw this on one builder's web site describing the bridge he sells)? Or does the term indicate that additional material is removed from the underside of the bridge? I'm replacing the factory bridge on a Gitane, which is much too low. The bridge appeared to be somewhat "hogged out" underneath.
Thanks for any responses,
musicofanatic
chomp, chomp, chomp, chomp...

Comments

• Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    I'm not a great expert, but I recently made my own bridge and I'll give these questions a shot.

The length of the arch is pretty much driven by where the bridge lands on the short braces under the top which are there for the purpose of supporting the bridge. If you go by the old bridge, you should be okay. These braces are usually about 1/2" wide and on some bridges, the part outboard of the braces is also relieved (arched) a little also. Unless you built the guitar yourself, it can be hard to define exactly where these braces are, so using the old bridge as a guide is a good way to go.

How deep should the arch be? I don't really know. The Saga bridges have a high arch, higher than any others I've seen. The other Selmer bridges I have seen have a lower arch, about 3mm. I'm not convinced that there is really anything wrong with the higher arch per se as long as the bridge is sufficiently rigid to support the strings.

The "hollow" being refered to is the "hogged out" area under the bridge, not the arch.