DjangoBooks.com

Gut vs. Steel?

tzadiktzadik New
edited November 2013 in Bass Posts: 21
What kinds of strings are people using? Which ones do you like best for the genre?

Comments

• CampusfiveCampusfive Los Angeles, CA✭✭✭✭
    GUT!!!!!

The sound of pre-bop bass playing is all about the gut strings. They have the right staccato thump because they don't sustain, which is exactly how the bass players before bop sounded. Steel strings were part of what allowed bebop bass players to play so legato, and lay back rhythmically. Don't lay back, drive like freight train --> play gut strings.

Here are two posts on my blog that might be useful in reading if you have no idea what I'm talking about:
    http://swingguitar.blogspot.com/2005/07 ... d-old.html
    http://swingguitar.blogspot.com/2005/08 ... oblem.html
  • badjazzbadjazz Maui, Hawaii USA✭✭✭ AJL
    When I played bass (for several years until I graduated to guitar) it was quite a dilemma. Gut strings where problematic to me for several reasons. First, the E & A strings sound and play different than the D & G because of the winding on most gut sets' lower strings. Second, the windings came loose from the gut quickly, leading to the winding not giving you a real grip on the string. It screwed up my timing and made it difficult to get good volume. Steel strings, however, were not 'thumpy' enough, if you know what I mean. The sound of the gut strings naturally gets you to play more rhythmically, which is really essential to drive swing, gypsy, bluegrass, or rockabilly. Steel also was hard for me at the end of the night (bleeding fingers, cramped forearm and shoulder), and very difficult if you do any slapping, which I did often in rockabilly bands.