DjangoBooks.com

Anyone gigging WITHOUT an Amp? (PA System and Mics)

constantineconstantine New York✭✭✭✭ Geronimo Mateos
I am a guitarist and have regular gigs both unplugged and plugged. The unplugged gigs sound amazing. I find that I lose so much when I plug in.

Anyone out there just using mics through a PA successfully with no amp?

I remember seeing a clip on youtube a while back with this configuration, it sounded great.

Thanks

Comments

• Ken BloomKen Bloom Pilot Mountain, North CarolinaNew
    I do it all the time. I have an old Audio Technica condenser mic that I use for the guitar. I control my volume by either moving in and out of the mic or just playing lighter or heavier. I don't mic the guitar at the soundhole. I usually place the mic below the bridge on the treble side. It's out of the way and I get a nice balanced response most of the time.
    Ken Bloom
  • constantineconstantine New York✭✭✭✭ Geronimo Mateos
    thanks Ken!!

My electric gigs require a decent amount of volume. We do a bar gig thats well attended and pretty much a party every time. Like a brawl scene on a pirate ship maybe.

Do you get pretty good volume out of your PA system?
    What about feedback, not a problem?
    Can you hear yourself well?

Thanks again - Con
  • Tom LandmanTom Landman Brooklyn, NY✭✭✭✭ 6 strings
    I've been playing a regular gig unplugged (no amp, no PA) for several months now. I find it is a great way to develop sound, projection and endurance. Plus, its so easy to just carry a guitar to the gig!
  • Ken BloomKen Bloom Pilot Mountain, North CarolinaNew
    So far I've been able to position myself and the others so that we can hear each other and not have to push the sound system too much. We elevate the speakers as much as we can and stay back of them as much as we can. We don't use monitors. Most of the time, they just add to the feedback problems.