DjangoBooks.com

Info on learning gypsy-style bass

Comments

• marcus johnsonmarcus johnson mauiNew
    Bumkneez, was that a question for anyone out here?...hope I'm not buttin' in.. :wink:

I only started playing Gypsy style bass a couple of years ago, I've spent a lot of years playing bop and free styles of jazz. I was very fortunate to be invited to start a gypsy style band with a guitarist named Tom Conway, who's taught me a lot about how to do this thing right. I've gradually simplified things a lot, and gotten to the point where I feel pretty good at what I'm doing in this band. By the same token, I do quite a bit of fairly gymnastic soloing, moreso than in most of the Gypsy recordings I've heard. My great joy, though, is in locking up with our rhythm guitarist, Phil Benoit. My aim is to try to make the bass and the rhythm guitar so tight that it sounds like one musician. Sometimes, it actually happens! One thing I try to do is constantly edit out the fluff and get to the essential note, every time, and avoid stepping on all the other beautiful stuff that's going on around me.

I've never tried to play Gypsy music on electric bass...props to you if you can pull it off.
  • bumkneezbumkneez New
    Marcus,
    Good to hear from you. Really liked that part about "locking in with the rhythm guitarist."
    This is going to be a real challenge! I shall be attempting to "Tap" bass, rythym, and lead all at the same time on 7 strings. I will be taking it one step at a time in that order.
    Since I've just started to learn "Tapping", the bass part is a good place to start.
    As far as "butting in", everybody's opinions and assistenance is welcome.
    Musically yours, bumkneez
  • AndoAndo South Bend, INModerator Gallato RS-39 Modèle Noir