DjangoBooks.com

Looking for top of the range, like a Dupont VR, new or used

Hi,

I have been a fan of Gypsy Jazz for a long time. To make it short: I have been playing the electric guitar for 12 years, mostly jazz/blues, I started collecting electric guitars and am looking to add a nice gypsy-style guitar to my collection.

I play all my instruments, so a pristine look is not something that has much value to my eyes. I am fine with a used condition, as long as it plays and sounds very good. I heard many things about Dupont Vieille Reserve series. Some say these guitars are the best (Bireli played it on a dvd, it sounded awesome, but again, what would not sound good in his hands..), some other say that he is an a&$%$^le and that the quality has gone down considerably.

What do you guys think? Is it possible to find these guitars in used condition? If yes, where? Any good alternative for 1 gypsy guitar of a lifetime.

Thanks

Cheops
<!-- e --><a href="mailto:[email protected]">[email protected]</a><!-- e -->

Comments

I am not gonna act like a gypsy guitar officinado, but some say gypsy guitars can be a crap shoot. Like any other, if you know guitars you know you got to play it first. I've heard people that swear by dupont and some who say what your saying. I'm always looking and what I have found is there is a lot to weigh. there is about at least 10 if not more that you could choose from. But I believe eventually you still have to play it. The VR kinda reminds me of the L5 in a sense are you gonna wanna bang on it, and if you are, well you probably already own one. Had an L5, traded down so I could play it...would I buy a VR, if I was already real good or rich. Not real good, not rich.

This site is great for used stuff, and Mike will let you know. He seems as straight up as they come, there is another site you want to check out ...but I hate to step on DJbooks.