DjangoBooks.com

Problem with gitane dg 255 ?

i have a new gitane dg 255 but when i play a little loud on E and A strings i hear
a bad sound like "tr-tr-tr-tr ".I still hear it on open E too ,its sound like it touches the firs fret
,i tried to set up the guitar with the allen key to loose the wood
to make the string a little higher ,i turned the bridge with the higher side up but nothing
it was getting a little better but still annoying.
Any advice?I am new with this guitar ,does it seem a problematic guitar ?
What can i do

sorry for my bad English

thanks

Comments

• asd123321asd123321 ✭✭✭✭
    It sounds like you need to put a shim (hard wood) under the bass side of the bridge to get the buzz out, not adjust the truss rod. You do that if the neck is curved the wrong way.
  • you think that will damage the truss rod?
    is this normal for the guitar to do this buzz so early
    ok
    i ll try this and i will post back
  • it sound better

what is the best height for the shim?
    is this something specific ?
  • asd123321asd123321 ✭✭✭✭
    The shim would be high enough to remove the buzz but trying not to have it so high that it is hard to play. Too much tightening of truss rod could make it harder to play in some areas. The possibility of snapping would be if taken to an extreme. Acoustics are not built that exactly and setup can vary with manufacturer.
  • i haven't seen in any video any of those shim,
    is it normal for a new guitar when you play a little loud the E end A to hear that (tr-tr-tr-tr) buzz ?
    should i return the guitar back to the store ?
  • seanrayseanray Madison, WI✭✭
    Sounds like you may have some uneven frets or maybe just one that's causing the problem. In extreme cases you can usually see which fret is sticking up a little farther than the rest.