DjangoBooks.com

New to GJ and looking for a bit of guitar advice

Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to Gypsy Jazz style. I suppose you would have called me a folk/blues player, until I saw a little band playing Gypsy Jazz in a cellar bar in Gent, Belgium on holiday last year. It was a truly amazing experience, and I was completely smitten with the whole vibe.

I'm now looking at taking the plunge and buying a GJ style guitar... As much as I love my Guild, I really want a selmer style guitar, and as luck would have it, I have the opportunity to buy a S/H Gitane DG320 (Modele Jorgenson) - which, through a bit of research online, I trust is a pretty decent guitar. The problem is it's missing a machine head... I just wanted to know how difficult this is would be to replace. Is replacing this a fairly unskilled task... or is this the kind of thing I'd need to factor in to the cost - i.e. the price of having a guitar tech fix this?

Any advice would be much appreciated...

Oh, and I forget the name of the band I saw in Gent. GJ seems to be pretty popular in Gent, so there might be dozens of bands playing there, but they had the word 'silver' in the name, I think. Anyone who knows who they are, I'd be over the moon if I could find out. Wish I had found out more when I was there... they were sooooo good!

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    edited November 2010 Posts: 1,002
    I think Michael sells replacement tuning keys. Last time I looked (quite awhile ago), the tuning keys for your guitar were about $50 US. Michael could ship them, or you could find some locally. Not a hard nor an expensive fix. I wouldn't let it be a factor as long as you like the guitar.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500