DjangoBooks.com

New bridge on the Gitane

Having forayed into the gypsy jazz style from playing other jazz styles about a year ago, I purchased my first gypsy jazz guitar---a Gitane DG-255. I've been very satisfied with the tone and I've decided to "upgrade" the tuners and tailpiece.

My question is: How many of you think it is necessary to change the stock bridge on the Gitane? I've been reading on the forums that a new bridge will help the tone open up much more and will eliminate the horrid bass thumping from the stock Saga bridge. If I do change the bridge, is there a way to get one slotted, or pre-made, as I am not very good with tools and I don't trust myself working on a 60 dollar dupont bridge.

Thanks in advance
-Justin

Comments

• ShawnShawn Boise, Idaho✭✭✭✭
    I've had quite a bit of experience with this, and can say without a doubt in my mind that those Gitane bridges are some of the worst I've seen. Once you change the bridge you'll see both the tonal and volume difference immediately. Also, I think it really depends on your guitar as to what bridge you'll want to get. I have some Selmer's that prefer an Ebony bridge and some that prefer Rosewood...in fact, my own DG255 sounds horrible with a Rosewood bridge, but sings as well as my Dupont with an Ebony bridge. Having said that though, the Dupont bridges that Michael sells are top of the line quality wise (in fact I just bought one from him) and you'll be more than pleased even at $60.

They really aren't that hard to fit to the guitar...just go slow if you don't trust yourself. I've saved myself literally thousands of dollars over the years learning how to repair, build, finish, etc., and while a learning curve exists, the benefits of learning will prove their worth both in the satisfaction of having learned a new skill and in the monetary sense.

Shawn
  • dontanmandontanman ✭✭