DjangoBooks.com

D-hole vs Oval hole

Hey! I'm a bit new to Gypsy Jazz and all of the gypsy guitars that I've played were Oval holes. I am now ready to buy my own gypsy guitar, but I cannot decide between Gitane DG-350 John Jorgenson Model (Oval Hole) or DG-350 Jan Akkerman Model (D-Hole). An inexperienced friend told me that D-holes are used as rhythm guitars, as I also have seen (mostly on youtube), though Angelo Debarre often plays a D-hole when playing lead. I think that D-hole guitars are much cooler looking :D , but my concern is that they (while playing lead guitar) don't cut through the sound of 3 backing guitars playing rhythm manouche?
So I would appreciate som thoughts, advices and suggestions on this matter.

Comments

• I was under that impression when I started to play this style, but have found that it isn't always true. The soloist in my sit plays a D hole (MDC-60) where I play rhythm on an oval hole. We also play with a sax and he has no problem cutting through, plugged or unplugged.
  • redbluesredblues ✭✭
    jkaz is on the money there. And welcome to the forum.

There is an extra point to be added regarding the D-hole design, an MDC-60 is more or less 2k more expensive than the models you are thinking about. That is just an example, when you look in this range of Dupont, Hahl, Le Voi, Holo, Nonis, etc.. these machines are so finely made that they would cut through a banjo jam, oval or grande bouche.

Nothing solid here just advice, but in your price range I would look at the Gitane range endorsed by Dorado Schmitt (DG-370, I played one, it rocked) and the Harmsworth and Willis http://www.harmsworthandwillis.co.uk/xhtml/dhole.html which just blows out the water in terms of positive reviews, and in your price range would probably be my choice.

All of the above is based on looking for a D-hole with projection, if you want oval hole you have many more options.

Happy hunting.

redblues
  • TimmyHawkenTimmyHawken Lansing,MINew