DjangoBooks.com

Building a Selmer-Maccaferri guitar

edited October 2011 in Welcome Posts: 13
Hey everyone,
Excellent forum here! I am a luthier and up until now I have made only classical and flamenco guitars. I love gypsy jazz and the sound and look of those guitars so I decided to try making one. It's a really different style of construction for me but it's coming along nicely.

I have a blog where I'll be documenting my progress from time to time:
http://andyculpepperguitars.wordpress.com/

I've got the sides bent and I'll start assembling the body soon, keep checking back!

Comments

• Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    Welcome Andy. I just had a look at your blog, very nice. Like the video of the flamenco guitar, reminds me to add "learn to play flamenco guitar" to my bucket list.

Solid IR back & sides on your Selmer build, eh? Bet it is going to sound great! Laminated backs and sides are more common for Selmer style, but the ones I've heard with solid b/s have been great. I've built both ways and my current giggin' guitar has solid bubinga backs and sides, love it.

There is not a lot of luthier chat here per se, but lots of talk about GJ guitars in general and the details therein. There is a self designated topic prefix of "BYO" for Build Your Own, as in BYO: My Latest Screw Up :oops: . If you search on BYO, you'll find half a dozen threads on building Selmer style with posts from some of the forum members who build. Also, Bob Holo is an active member and one of the best builders of this style in the world. Searching his posts will get you a boatload of ideas about this style.

Keep us posted as your project advances.

Craig
  • Thanks Craig!
    It is solid Indian, which will probably sound a bit different from laminated. Hopefully "better" in a sense, but I'm sure a case could be made for doing it more traditional too.
    I will search out Bob's posts.

(just made another update on the blog) :D