DjangoBooks.com

Choosing between D-500 & GJ-15 (& Montreal teachers!)

Comments

• KalebimaKalebima New
    Based on the pics Diese Onze looks like it's kind of fancy - I'm a student, so I don't want to have to pay $20 a night to enjoy some jazz... is that the case?
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    Just go sit at the bar and have a beer. Tell Michel that Ben from Halifax sent you.
    Benny

"It's a great feeling to be dealing with material which is better than yourself, that you know you can never live up to."
    -- Orson Welles
  • constantineconstantine New York✭✭✭✭ Geronimo Mateos
    Remember that the D500 is a short scale and will benefit from heavier strings (11's) to minimize the mushyness of the sound. I like the D500 (as pictured on my Avatar) much better than both Cigano's. Its a soul thing sucka!
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    i don't teach anymore! but i would highly recommend my ex student eric lemay, he has quite a lot of experience, andi 've brought him to django in june many times to be my assistant.

damien is a graet player too and an ex student, dont know too much about his teaching experience, but at any rate, enjyo montreal!!!
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    Kalebima wrote:
    Based on the pics Diese Onze looks like it's kind of fancy - I'm a student, so I don't want to have to pay $20 a night to enjoy some jazz... is that the case?

diese onze is total shit with very poor ethics (from the owner), they got a really bad review recently on a major newspaper, i boycott that place like the plague hahaha.. the staff is constantly changing there hey i'm not always mister positive

go to the upstairs jazz club, i'll be playing there on oct 30th with hono winterstein and brady winterstein
  • KalebimaKalebima New
    If I'm free that night I'll definitely come swing by. Any other places that I should know about?