DjangoBooks.com

What voicings did Chaput and Joseph use?

edited January 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 13
I'm a beginner in Gypsy Jazz, deciding what chords and voicings to learn. For now, I'm kind of interested in learning what the backup guitarists of the Hot Club Quintet in the 30's did. And I'm in a quandary.
On the one hand, I have acquired Cosimini's Gypsy Jazz Chord Book, Horowitz' Gypsy Rhythm, Chang's Art of Accompaniment, Ailin Cola's Django Fakebook and Robin & Watremez' Django Reinhardt's 100th Birthday; and I take the occasional lesson from John Jorgenson's rhythm guitarist. On the other hand, I listen to the music. I have transcribed a LOT of dense guitar music in my time. I'm listening as closely as I can to the rhythm section while Django is soloing, and I can't for the life of me hear all these notes these sources -- except Cola -- are telling me are the gypsy jazz chords. Granted, I've just done this with maybe a dozen songs, but if that's any indication: mostly these guys are playing three-note chords -- straight triads (which you're "never" suppose to hear in Gypsy Jazz) and simple dominants and diminished. Once in a while a 6th or 9th. Apparently, not too concerned if there's no root on the 5th or 6th string. (Though very concerned about voice leading.)
I understand that GJ harmony has expanded since the 30's. And I understand that people want to play rhythm more like Django than like Joseph. So maybe that's what y'all are talking about. But am I right about the humble accompanists back in the day? If so I'm surprised they are not more of a model for backup rhythm. Or do you have reason to believe there are notes there that are just very, very difficult to hear on these recordings?

Comments

• Paulius VolkovasPaulius Volkovas ✭✭✭