DjangoBooks.com

I am new to Gypsy guitar and introducing myself.

edited February 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 20
Hello All…I just wanted to say hello, introduce myself and maybe make a friend or two. I go by the name Chet and I live in Baltimore County, Maryland. I just became a penta-generian and have played on and off for around 20 years. I only recently discovered the joyful bliss that is Gypsy Jazz Guitar. I was already getting into GJ when I heard Midnight In Paris by Stephane W. and that further put me into Gypsy Fever. I am learning how to play MIP from a guy named Barry in Philadelphia…really nice guy by the way.

Last week I bought a guitar from a guy named Jacques Mazzoleni at GypsyGuitars.com I just found him with Google (no guitar stores within 300 miles sells Gypsy guitars and the dorks at Guitar Center didn’t even know what one was!!). The coolest thing is it turns out that Jacques and his collection of Gypsy guitars is 12 minutes from my house…we turn out to be neighbors! I bought one by a builder named Shelly Park, it has a lot of upgrades and custom woods, parts and a pick-up and I LOVE IT!

I am looking for a teacher and will probably go to Barry in Phili but it’s not very practical. There is some guy named Tom close to Baltimore…anyone know of whom I speak? I am disabled and travel can be difficult…on the other hand I have more time to practice so the glass is ½ full (sometimes)!

I plan on getting the Horwitz picking book, the Nolan books and maybe the Change's DVDs. YouTube has been like having 1000s of lessons anytime you want.
Any and all advice is appreciated!

I LOVE this site…thanks to all that contribute and donate time and energy to make it happen and share their knowldge and talent.

Best to All – “Chet”

Comments

• Welcome to our group of crazy Djangophiles. It sounds like you are well on your way to sharing our madness :shock: :D