DjangoBooks.com

Just ordered a Gitane DG-370 Modele Dorado Schmitt

Hi,

My name is Bob and I am new to the forum. I am new to GJ playing but having been playing solo jazz chord melody for over a decade now on an archtop guitar (Heritage Sweet 16). I am a hobbyist player (with a day job) who mostly plays at home and plays solo arrangements.

A 14 fret, long-scale neck made sense and because I will mostly be playing acoustically at home solo arrangements (both chords and single line); a D hole also made sense as a configuration (thanks Michael for guiding me through the unknown). I finally decided to bite the bullet and take the dive into GJ so I ordered a Gitane DG-370 from Michael. I opted to have Josh fret level it, build a new bridge and a set-up because I know that it makes a big difference on my archtop and other guitars. I should get it in about 3 weeks. I also ordered a copy of Gypsy Picking to learn some new techniques (rest stroke etc.).

I spent two cups of coffee looking at the forum archives (interesting how gear gets the most threads!) and found it quite educational. I have no experience with Gitane or any instruments made in China (although I have tried 1 or 2 Eastman archtops), but I am hoping the quality of this instrument properly set up will be what I hope it is. Players in this forum seem to speak highly about them, so I am looking forward to it arriving. I did not opt to have a pick-up installed at this time, but it sounds as if there are many options that I could try at a later date to work with my jazz amp (Acoustic Image Clarus 2R with a Raezer's Edge 10" Nighthawk Speaker).

I will follow-up with my impressions of the instrument's construction and tone after it arrives.

:-)

Bob
Guitars: Gitane DG-370 Modele Dorado Schmitt, Heritage "Sweet 16"
Amp: Acoustic Image Clarus 2R, Raezer's Edge Nighthawk 10ER

Comments

• bopsterbopster St. Louis, MOProdigy Wide Sky PL-1, 1940? French mystery guitar, ‘37 L-4