DjangoBooks.com

practice routine

edited February 2005 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 20
Perhaps one of you wise sages could suggest a breakdown of how one might spend his time learning to play this style of music. I would like to think that I am spending my time well but I must admit that I am not making much progress.

=={=}

George

Comments

• CalebFSUCalebFSU Tallahassee, FLModerator Made in USA Dell Arte Hommage
    edited January 2005 Posts: 557
    George, First off let me say my practice routine is probably much different than most other people. I am a Jazz guitar student so some of the things I do my not be as applicable to everyone's Gypsy Jazz goals. I usually start out just playing scales (yes I know after a while it gets kind of mindless but nothing like running a few scales in all 12 keys to warm up the fingers). Also I tend to practice what I like least first. This way I don't spend an hour and a half Jamming along with Robin Nolan and then put off practicing my sight reading for another day. So I sight read everyday first off(not that I dislike doing it, but I have only been reading for Guitar for about two years so I am behind Horn players that have been doing it for ten years) . Is this necesarry to play this music maybe not, but it has damn sure helped me. Then I practice Improvising and playing Rhythm. I usually practice over tunes some Gypsy style stuff some Bebop I don't separate the styles of Jazz I play though. I am just just as likely to play a Gypsy sounding line over Confirmation as I am to play a Burrell or Grant Green sounding line over Douce Ambiance. I tend to practice whatever tunes at slower tempos so that I can concentrate on what I am playing. And most important Always with a metronome.

Well thats mine hope it helps. And any of you guys what to suggest something for my routine please do tell. MIchael what was your routine like at Berklee? Similair? Different?